Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Heavy Heart

on January 21, 2014

Today I am looking at life a little differently.

Today my heart feels heavy. 

I was working on a post about the long weekend when I suddenly found out that a friend’s husband tragically died this weekend –he was involved in a terrible accident. 

They had been married less than 2 months. and my heart broke for her. 

I don’t know what about this hit me so hard (well, besides everything), but it did. like 8 tons of bricks on my heart and soul. I’m actually having a little trouble functioning, to be honest. I’m just so darn sad. How could this happen? 

I did think, “this could have been me”. How in the world would I go on? I know the answer. one step, one breath at a time. But in this moment, even thinking about what she is experiencing makes me feel terrified and sick. I’m not sure if I could do it. 

Life sure hands us lots of surprises throughout the years — and some of them are really not all that wonderful (and some of them are, of course). While I firmly believe that everything happens for a reason, this is one of those times when I just don’t get it. 

It has for sure given me reason to pause today, to remember what’s really important, and to sincerely treasure every heartbeat, every breath, every hug and kiss, every conversation and memory. Because it could be over instantly. Life can change SO quickly. It’s so easy to get caught up in the every day minutia,  complaints, and stresses. In the end the fact that if my floor that didn’t get swept/mopped or the bathroom didn’t get scrubbed doesn’t really matter. People do. Time does. Love does. 

Love everyone just a little bit more today. Hug someone a little tighter, linger over that coffee date, say yes to spending time with someone important, hold someone’s hand, and let the daily chores slide. 

I’m just viewing life a little differently today and remembering what’s really important. 

No questions today. 

~ Brittany xo

Leave me some love!

