Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

2014: Let’s Get it Started

on January 2, 2014

Happy 2014!! We are starting off the year with a ginormous frigid blizzard! I think we are supposed to get like 16 inches or something crazy like that – and it’s a balmy -10 degrees out. YUCK. Luckily, I’m still off from work, and P is home today, so he can use the snow blower – thank goodness!! Even Fiona had no desire to trek out into the freezing cold this AM, despite that she loves the snow! Long story longer: we’re snowed in today.

So, 2014 is officially here. Time to start making those resolutions – in my world, that means goals to accomplish/tackle this year. Resolutions are something you make yourself stick to – goals are something you work towards and make progress. I have been thinking long and hard about what goals I want to set, and honestly, I’ve kinda struggled with the concept. I tried going the “pick a word” for the year, but I truly feel like having concrete goals just works better for me. I’m a firm believer that if you want to change something, you should just do it and not wait for Jan 1, or a Monday, or some arbitrary date – but it does really kinda feel like a blank slate when we turn the calendar to Jan 1st! So, here we go!

Fitness goals (these were the easy ones!!):

  • Continue working out 4-5 times a week
  • Try something new this year (barre class, hot yoga, spinning)
  • Continue to work on strength – including lifting heavy to add some definition
  • Train and race a 10K (this is the big one!!!)
  • Do more speed workouts (PR in my 5K time)
  • Put my name in for the Falmouth Road Race lottery in August


Life goals:

  • Be present (sound familiar?) – this is a big year (wedding!!!), and I want to really experience and remember it all – not just get bogged down in the details and hurry to the next thing. Put down my phone/iPad/laptop when I’m with other people so I can actually connect with them.
  • Express more gratitude for my family & friends: I want to work on being a better sister, daughter, fiancée, and friend – call more, do more, be there more
  • Learn something new – take a class, get interested in a new subject, get Fiona started on her therapy dog certification
  • Give back: I’m not sure what form this will take, but I like the way I feel when I do random acts of kindness, volunteer, etc. I’d really like to get involved with Girls on the Run, but have yet to find a local chapter!
  • Do more of what I love: doing DIY/crafty things, reading, getting back into yoga, blogging – and not feel guilty for doing them!
  • Be fearless! Put the past in the past and make it stay there. Be better with dealing with change and when things don’t meet my expectations. Be able to accept “imperfections”.


All in all — I’m looking forward to a fabulous 2014 and becoming a better me! 😀 I feel like these goals are some good starting points and I’m excited to see what the next 12 months will bring – I know there will be ups and downs, just like any year, but right now, 2014 is looking all shiny and new with lots of good things to come my way.

Answer me this: Tell me one of your goals for 2014!!

~ Brittany xo

Leave me some love!

