Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

So long 2013!

on December 31, 2013

Dec 31. The last day of the year. It’s here again – hard to believe that another 12 months has gone by!

This year, like most, has definitely had both it’s up and downs –

I :

  • Got Engaged!!!!!!
  • strengthened my social relationships
  • ran 5 5K races
  • increased my endurance significantly/ started doing serious strength training
  • Inspired others in their healthy lifestyles journey
  • Became more willing to at least try new foods
  • Embraced choosing to be happy and grateful
  • Worked on looking for the positives in negative situations

BUT I also

  • Experienced the death of a close family member
  • Struggled with finances
  • Was challenged with the health crises of 2 close family members
  • Struggled with anxiety/control issues
  • Had my best friend move to another state

Overall, it was another great year – with a lot of learning and growing for me – but I’m ready to bid 2013 farewell and I am ready for everything that 2014 is going to bring!!! Looking at last year’s “goal” blog, I noticed that I probably set way too many goals for 2013 – but I thought I’d review them anyway 🙂

Emotional well-being goals: record one positive/good/grateful thing that happened that day, Pay it forward 2-3x a month, be present , increase social relationships, give myself permission for “me time”

  • I did great with my grateful journal – until March, haha. So …. C+
  • I definitely did try to pay it forward, but I didn’t keep track of how many times a month
  • Be present – yeah …. I tried really hard—some days were better than others! You’ll probably see this one again!
  • I definitely increased social relationships this year! Not the easiest thing for me to do, but it has made my life so much more full
  • Me time — Eh – not so much!! I am REALLY good at finding excuses for doing other things than having me time.

Fitness goals: race (at least one) 5K , Continue my workouts
4-5 days a week, increase my plank time and running mileage, Figure out a way for P and I to work out together

  • Check to 3 out of 4 here!!!! Exercise has become such an important part of my life – it makes me happy, feel good about myself, and certainly helps with my anxiety. I ran 5 races, am working out 5 days a week for the most part, and I’ve increased my mileage and plank.
  • The only one that didn’t really happen was working out with P—we did well for about a month, and then he kinda fell off the wagon due to busyness


Mental well-being: Figure out what I want to do in regards to my career, Learn something new, continue to grow this blog

  • The blog definitely continued to grow this last year, and I was able to join a book club – but did not enroll in any sort of class. The first one – yeah, didn’t even really touch that one too much…

Others: start putting money back into my/our savings account, think about writing a children’s book again, look into therapy dog school for Fiona & me

  • I did start being able to put money back into the savings accounts, and I did research therapy dog school for Fiona – this is still in the works! The Children’s book idea – not so much – STILL something I really want to do.

So, overall – not too shabby!? I accomplished quite a lot and am happier than I have ever been – but there’s always room for tweaking!! I’m still working on my goals for next year … so to be continued!!


I hope that you all have a wonderful New Year’s and have fun bringing in 2014 – it’s going to be a good one!!!! We are heading out to dinner at one of our favorite restaurants with some friends – Risotto is involved 😉

Answer me this: What is one goal you are proud of accomplishing in 2013? Plans for New Years Eve?

~ Brittany xo

2 responses to “So long 2013!

  1. Melissa @ Freeing Imperfections says:

    Great recap of your goals for the year! I also struggle with me time as well. Like, seriously struggle. I think I’m going to post about it soon, actually, in attempt to write about perfectionism issues more. Here’s to more me time to the both of us. Happy New Year!

Leave me some love!

