Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Weekend Stories: First snow and Christmas Garland DIY!

on December 16, 2013

Happyyyyyyyyyyyyy Monday friends – I feel totally confident in saying that today, since today starts the last week before I have 2 weeks off from school ~ hooray! *happy dance**

On Saturday/early Sunday morning, we got our first real storm around here – I’d guess we ended up with about 11-12 inches when all was said and done. I’m very happy that it held off while I was at my wedding dress search appointment – the snow had just started to really fall as we started to head home (no luck on a dress yet *sigh* — I found one I LOVED – and then found out that the bridal shop had put me in one that was WAY above my price point. ICK). Here is the giant mountain of snow that I pulled into today when I got to work!

Once I was home, I settled in for some serious couch time with hubs-to-be and Fiona – we caught up on DVR, P made turkey chili nachos, and I finished reading my book for book club … and P went out in the snow for some special “red cups” since our Xmas activity that way was to get holiday drinks from Starbucks! It was some well-deserved down time (despite my minor meltdown about not doing anything productive!) I don’t mind being snowed in AT ALL (plus, P took care of the snow blowing – thanks honey!)

I also entertained myself by doing a really quick, really fun, Christmas DIY ~ and I LOVED how it turned out – so much that I want to make like 8 more!! So, I thought I’d share the love and fun J

I am not kidding you when I say this is super easy – P rolled his eyes at me when I said that, but even he had to eat his words – I finished this project in about 15 minutes.

What you need:

  • Ornaments (I decided to go with a red, green, and silver/white theme, and I found that different sizes worked the best!)
  • Ribbon (has to be able to go through the loop on the top of the ornament, but strong enough to hold the weight of the ornaments ~ Mine was 3 yards, and I had a lot left over!)

My garland currently has 50 large ornaments and 16 smaller ones – I found the end result to be too short and I want to add some more. Also, it is important to think about WHERE your finished product is going to go/how it will hang. I wanted to put ours on the archway of our built in bookcases, but there was no way to really hang it there, unless we used nails. Tape WILL NOT hold it.

Pick out your first ornament and thread the ribbon through it, and then tie a knot. Rookie mistake: Leave a longer end on your ribbon then I did – I had some trouble hanging that end up! Also, I did not cut my ribbon – I just unwound it from the cardboard reel that it came on. That way I didn’t have to worry about how long it was!

Then you can just start to string your ornaments on one-by-one – they will start to bunch up all on their own – no fiddling necessary! The only “planning” I did was to not string 2 of the same ornaments next to one another!

Once you’ve finished stringing all your ornaments on, tie off the last bulb like you did to the first – this keeps them from all falling off! And, you’re done!! See!? Simple and beautiful! Here’s ours (currently hanging from the curtain rod in our sun room and also currently in need of some more ornaments!) This is a great time to do this project since all of the ornaments are starting to go on sale J

It was a fun snowy day project!!

I also did a whole lot of coloring – this worksheet x 6 for a game I’m making for my students (but it’s SO CUTE!)

And we also decided to have Fiona wear her doggy snuggie that someone gave her – interesting part? She left it on … I guess she was cold!!!

We also did a whole lot of house stuff – meal planning, cleaning, laundry – the usuals – I also got in my 6th workout this week on Sunday! *pat myself on the back*

Hope that your week is off to a great start – only 9 more days until Christmas!!!! (AHHHH)

Answer me this: Do you like doing crafy things? Is your Christmas shopping finished? (mine isn’t!!)

~ Brittany xo

5 responses to “Weekend Stories: First snow and Christmas Garland DIY!

  1. Danica says:

    I love how the ornament garland looks! Very creative and pretty!

  2. olivetorun says:

    Oh I LOVE it! I’m a huge craft lover, but I never do enough of them…. I keep saying I’m going to make a Christmas wreath… uhm 🙂

  3. Brittany says:

    Thanks Jen!! It was so much fun to make!!

    *Brittany*

    >

Leave me some love!

