Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Weekend Stories: Challenges, Cold, and Wedding Gowns

on November 25, 2013

Brrrrrrr!! The typical NY cold has begun to set in here … yuck! We had our first *tiny* snow fall on Saturday, but boy is it COLD!! You’d think I’d be used to it by now, right? And while I’ve definitely come to expect it – my body hates it!!

The good news is that it’s a short work week – yay! So, I guess it terms of work lingo – its hump day already! I’ll take that 😀 We are hosting Thanksgiving again this year – but we are totally cheating, as my family decided to order dinner from a local restaurant, along with making some of the “must haves”.. no one felt like cooking this year, and I think everyone is feeling more than a little stressed about other things that are happening. I’m still looking forward to it – and looking forward to making an apple pie – I haven’t made one yet this fall!!

So the weekend … was pretty laid back … I can say we didn’t really venture out of the house unless it was completely necessary! But I did happen to embark on a very exciting trip on Saturday morning… my wedding gown search began!!!! I won’t say much other than it was a ton of fun and I really enjoyed it (well, right up until it was suggested that I have to have my dress ordered before Christmas! Ahhhh!!) … and when I came home, I found P all busy winterizing and cleaning the house … *score!*

P had to work at our local annual Christmas parade for work – I was planning to take Fiona and walk with him – but the temperature decided to dip down to about 20 degrees – so I easily changed my mind and stayed home! When the snow started to fall, I have to say I did get a little giddy thinking that it was snowing on the parade that kicks off the holiday season around here – but I was still very happy to be at home with my warm noisy steam radiators! J

P also stopped at the grocery store and came home bearing gifts:

AHHHH! I am so excited that these are in a 6 pack!!! YAY YAY YAY!!!

Sunday more of “stay in the house”… temps didn’t get ABOVE 25, so neither of us was very keen on leaving! P plays soccer on Sunday mornings, and I was pretty happy that I didn’t have to leave my warm house to get my run in!! Speaking of running, on Friday I ran my first 4+ mile run since my injury 😀 HOORAY! It was one of those perfect runs where you feel like you could just keep running too – although, I think watching “Biggest Loser” while I was running kept me pretty motivated J

My very favorite challenge, Elf4Health begins today!! My ELF is Marie, for the next 2 weeks – she blogs at http://healthyideasplace.com – she makes lots of yummy looking recipes!! Today’s challenge is “Meatless Monday” – I won’t be fulfilling the challenge today L P and I mean plan on Sunday afternoons, and roasted red pepper chili is already planned and prepped for tonight’s dinner … but yesterday was completely meatless, and P even whipped up a mushroom lasagna for dinner … my picture of it is pretty ugly, especially since we couldn’t wait for it to get cool and set, but it was really, really yummy!!! Some day I will learn how to make pretty food pictures!

Tomorrow’s challenge is to unsubscribe from at least 3 email lists/magazines that you don’t want to receive anymore. I LOVE this idea – mostly for email lists at this point for me – but I sign up (or get signed up) for random things, and then just delete them without reading them – this will force me to cut down on some inbox items!

The #goodlifechallenge with Jamie also started today (and I have a buddy for that one too! (Hi Maggie!!) – today’s challenge was to wait until I was actually hungry before eating. Sounds easy right? Luckily, I’m pretty good at this, at least during the week! I was definitely hungry when I ate my breakfast!

However, this is what I was driving behind on my way to work – I definitely wanted ice cream and cookie crunchies instead of pumpkin banana oatmeal! (which is totally delicious, by the way!)

It is definitely a good reminder to remember to listen to your body – there are definitely times when I eat just because I think it’s probably time that I should! Of course, there are also times when I let myself get hangry because I get busy, or stupidly, try to restrict calories! Not good. Good thing that there is always room for improvement J

Here’s to a fantastic week my friends!!

Answer me this: How do you do with eating when you’re actually hungry? Do you ever “go meatless”? How was the weekend?

~ Brittany xo

3 responses to “Weekend Stories: Challenges, Cold, and Wedding Gowns

  1. Yeah, I already failed the meatless challenge- I had very limited lunch options today so I ended up taking some turkey for a sandwich… it was only one slice and I’ll probably have a veggie dinner, so I don’t feel too guilty… that’s exciting about starting the search for the wedding dress… and DON’T stress out about ordering it way in advance-The hubby and I got engaged and planned our wedding in just under 4 months-I found THE dress while trying it on to figure out what size I’d need for a different dress…and it fit perfectly, I just had to get it shortened.. a lot of shops will tell you that you have to hurry up and order it and that’s not necessarily true. Either way, Good luck! 🙂

  2. I’m doing the Good Life Challenge as well! Good luck!

    Congrats on your run! I know that coming back from an injury can be daunting, but once you have that first really good run, you feel so relieved!

Leave me some love!

