Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

I could not survive without…

on November 21, 2013

Today, as I was finishing up the last drops of my coffee (I’m always so sad when this happens – where can I get a never-ending cup??), I thought to myself, “Self, I could not survive without my coffee!

This led me to start thinking about things that I just could not survive without – and I thought that it would make for a fun little post on this chilly Thursday! These are things/objects that I can’t live without, since my friends and family, house, job etc. are just a given! So, let’s play

I cannot  survive without …. My coffee. I look forward to everything in my coffee cup – the creamer I choose that day, the smell, the feeling of the warm cup in my hands… it’s all so wonderful. My cup at home is literally the size of a soup bowl – so it’s perfect!

I cannot survive without … chapstick. I’m somewhat of a chapstick hoarder – I usually have no less than 3 with me at all times! I have all different brands and flavors – I’m a tad embarrassed to admit that I actually have a small(ish) basket filled with unopened chapsticks… at least I’ll never run out! These aren’t actually mine, but it’s pretty similar…

I cannot survive without… the spices of Season-All and garlic. I seriously put these on everything I cook, especially the veggies that I roast for my lunch salads. Plus, the smell of season-all reminds me of my mom making meatloaf and helping me cook when she would come to visit me in Buffalo

I cannot survive without … my Contigo water bottle—it comes EVERYWHERE with me, which helps me to remember to drink water (which is especially hard for me in the colder months – which is most of them in NY! I have both the 24 oz and the 32 oz, and strangely enough, I find it easier to drink more water when I use the smaller one! They are both blue, of course!

I cannot survive without … music… of all types – but I tend to gravitate towards country. I use music at work, when I’m working out, when I need to chill out, to pump me up…. it’s good for just about everything. It always feels good to find the perfect song for the right moment! This AM I was watching the youtube video below, and I was really missing playing the flute and being in orchestra (I played from 5th grade until I graduated from college). Plus, I love this song,and it’s the only one I can play with 2 hands on the piano!

I cannot survive without … peanut butter. This is pretty self-explanatory, right? If you don’t like peanut butter, I’m not sure that we can be friends 😉

I cannot survive without … mittens. Preferably my north face mittens, which are lined in fleece, and are just so darn warm! It’s so cold here in the northeast and I have “hypersensitivity to cold” (I was tested for Raynaud’s Syndrome {pretty much lack of circulation in your fingers and toes}, but I just missed the mark, so they call it hypersensitivity to cold). I’m pretty hypersensitive in general, haha, so that works! Anyway, my mittens are a needed accessory in my world.

I cannot survive without … books!! (yeah, I know, you already knew this one.) Books are my go-to for “me time” and for my “down time” before bed – I’d rather read than watch TV, and I enjoy getting totally wrapped up in a story! Thank goodness for the library- otherwise, I’d need a very large room and a second income to support my “habit”

As a side note, I COULD live without snow, people who don’t use their turn signals, itchy sweaters & socks, our ineffective can opener, store that don’t carry petite sizes, and people who only focus on themselves. Just sayin’

Answer me this: What are some things that you can’t survive without?

~ Brittany xo

3 responses to “I could not survive without…

  1. Mom says:

    I couldn’t survive without my good memories…I miss hearing you play the flute! XOXO

  2. I’m with you – I couldn’t survive without my chapstick! I have like 5 different kinds on me at all times.

Leave me some love!

