Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Peaking at 20?

on November 7, 2013

Today I was listening to the radio on my way to work. One of the local DJs was having his birthday today, and announced that he was turning 27 – there were then several segments about people calling in to tell him what activities he HAD to experience/accomplish/do before he turned 30. The two suggestions that I heard were to go to Vegas and take the opportunity to wear crazy clothes.

First of all, that makes me feel really old!

Second of all, do people think you just stop living/drop off the face of the planet when you turn 30?!

Today is my half-birthday, and I am “officially” 31 ½ — so I can confidently tell you that no, life does not end when you turn 30!! I’ll be the first to admit that there are some things that should probably cease at a certain age — *ahem* mini-skirts and bootie shorts – but I did not pick up knitting, buy a rocking chair, and buy 18 cardigans with various animals on them in different colors.

It’s taken me a very long time to come to grips with the fact that I am 31, and am just now planning my wedding and do not yet have human kids. I can’t even say that I’m totally 100% okay with the fact, but it’s the way things were meant to be for me. But now you’re telling me I’m supposed to be boring too because I’m in my 30s? (clearly I’m exaggerating a little) and life is definitely still fun – even it takes me a liiitle longer to recover!

Being in my 20’s was fun – but there were also moments that really sucked. When I was 20, I:

  • Graduated from Grad school (yay!)
  • Lived in Buffalo for 2 years all alone, and hated it (boo!)
  • Got married
  • Got divorced
  • Met hubs-to-be
  • Had a horrible diet during grad school
  • Changed jobs
  • Moved 3 or 4x
  • Bought a house
  • Started paying back student loans
  • Adopted Fiona
  • Got back into fitness/running

And let’s see, in my 30s, I’ve either done or plan to:

  • Get engaged
  • Get married
  • Started blogging
  • Become a Mom
  • Figured out how to DIY in regards to the house
  • Go on a kick ass honeymoon
  • Inevitably have several large house “projects”
  • Continue to travel
  • Continue to re-discover my love of running and fitness
  • Conquer new goals

 

I certainly hope and certainly don’t think that the peak of my life, or the most fun, has already happened. In fact, I’m pretty sure that the best is yet to come. Even though I’m in my 30s. But, I think I’ll still leave the booty shorts on the rack.

Answer me this: What’s your opinion on peaking at 20? Do you think there are things you should do before you’re 30? What are you most looking forward to as 2013 draws to a close?

~ Brittany xo

6 responses to “Peaking at 20?

  1. Stacie says:

    It’s funny that your post is on this. I’m actually turning 25 on Sunday, and am not quite sure how I feel about it yet. I’ve heard from so many people that your 30’s are your best years though!

    • Brittany says:

      Happy Early Birthday!! How are you going to celebrate?? I had a hard time turning 25 … I think that was harder than 30 — mostly because of what was happening in my life then. I can tell you that I’ve grown a lot and have become more comfortable with myself — some days 🙂

      *~*Brittany*~*

  2. 20,30 or 50 – you determine the life you live. If you want to be happy & do fun things, why should age matter? 🙂 🙂 I’m so excited for your upcoming wedding. You’re going to make such a gorgeous bride. Where you two honeymooning at?

  3. Melissa @ Freeing Imperfections says:

    I like your perspective on 30! I will be 25 next year and it sort of kind of freaks me out. My husband keeps saying “you’re halfway to 50!” which is not a good way to look at it!

    But the way you talk about it, I’m excited to be 30!

    • Brittany says:

      25 freaked me out too!! I won’t lie, things are definitely different at 30– like how my body holds up! But I’m glad I was able to show 30 in a good light :))

Leave me some love!

