Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

A Whole Bunch of Random Thoughts – Happy Friday!

on November 1, 2013

*phew* we made it!! I feel like it’s been a very loooong week—glad that we finally made it to the end! 😀

So, I know this is a little late, but Happy Halloween from Fiona!!!

We decided that she makes the perfect Tigger! And she wore her costume for about 20-25 minutes before wanting to rip it off (she and I went trick-or-treating at Mom and Dad’s – yes, I’m a dork). We had lots of trick-or-treaters last night! Not as many as last year, but a lot more than I expected since the weather was pouring rain off and on. Little kids in costumes = immediate warm fuzzy … even if Fiona did bark most of the night!

We turned Halloween into Taco Thursday this week (YUM!) – which was awesome – minus the fact that they were super messy, and that kinda posed a problem when the doorbell rang J oh well. I also talked P into carving our jack-o-lantern! We just hadn’t gotten to it yet – so better late than never, right?

 

We also roasted pumpkin seeds for the first time! Digging the seeds out of the pumpkin guts became my job – which I then became slightly fixated on getting every.single.one. Then we tossed them in olive oil and salt and put them in the oven for 30 minutes. They came out pretty good, and I’m looking forward to eating them on my salads next week.

 

Know what else I’m looking forward to? This guy, right here:

 

Have you seen these? I was missing them, and then I finally spotted them hiding in the corner of the grocery store – there is also a gingerbread one, but I think I’ll wait a little bit before I start consuming those! I’m thinking the pumpkin one is going to make a fantastic mid-morning snack!

Speaking of snacks (my segues are amazing today, right?) I totally forgot to tell you that on last Saturday night, P and I decided to have movie night in – we rented the Great Gatsby (I was very disappointed in it) from OnDemand, and stocked up on snacks…

The star though? That popcorn in the white bowl. That my friends, is pumpkin spice popcorn. And it’s omg amazing. So amazing that P remembered it from last year when I made it and wanted it again. That deliciousness is the brain child of Kristi from LifeSprinkles …. And you need to try it. Immediately. Easy and delicious – doesn’t get better than that! Find the recipe here!

(random note: as I am editing this at work, there is a bumble bee flying around my office, and it is trying to “pollinate” the flower decals on my wall. Ummmm…)

So, what’s on for this weekend? We are busy busy – I desperately need to catch up on house “stuff”, we have some wedding appointments to take care of, and my work is hosting their pancake breakfast fundraiser too! It may snow here on Sunday … and I may cry!

Happy Friday friends – I hope your Halloween was sweet, your work day moves quickly, and your weekend is just what you need it to be.

Answer me this: How was Halloween? What is your favorite snack? Weekend plans?

~ Brittany xo

7 responses to “A Whole Bunch of Random Thoughts – Happy Friday!

  1. Every time I eat squash ( which is a lot) I bake the seeds with honey and cinnamon. Yum!

    • Brittany says:

      Oooo I never thought of that!? Do you eat acorn squash? I have 2 of them and don’t know what to do with them!

      • Yes I cook acorn squash all the time! I have a recipe for sausage stuffed acorn squash. Another thing I like doing is making a savory pancake out of them after baking I let them cool, scrape out the flesh and mix with tbsp of coconut flour, garlic and chopped bacon. Then fry them as pancakes! Yum.

  2. Thanks for the recipe for Pumpkin Spice Popcorn! Also, thanks for the link to Kristi’s blog. I ended up adding her blog to a list of the ones I follow. Love Fiona’s costume. Glad to see I’m not the only one who dresses their dog up for Halloween.

    • Brittany says:

      Let me know when you try it 🙂 it’s so good!! Although it doesn’t keep great– popcorn gets stale! Fiona always dresses up! Last year she was a bumblebee!

  3. Snow- eh that sounds so horrible! Bundle up girl. Oh & of course, enjoy those pancakes. I wanna attend a pancake fundraiser!

Leave me some love!

