Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Cape Cod &a Birthday Boy!!

on September 1, 2013

Hellllo campers! How are you this morning? First and foremost, I have to wish my guy a very big happy birthday!! πŸ™‚

Happy Birthday Honey!!



Happy Birthday to my other half, my partner in crime, the one who holds my whole heart ❀ He cooks for me, loves me unconditionally, makes me laugh, and puts me in my place when I’m being irrational πŸ˜‰ I couldn’t imagine my life without you, and I feel so very lucky that you love me back! I hope that you enjoy your special day and have some new extraordinary birthday memories! I love you!!! ❀


Somebody has lots of gifts to open today! ❀

In other news, we, obviously, have made it back from Cape Cod! We arrived home late last night and have spent much of today recovering, doing laundry, and running a couple of errands. CC was a nice break from the real world for a couple of days. P, Fiona, and I drove up on Tuesday afternoon, and on Thursday K drove from Boston and P’s brother, SIL and nephews came up as well. On Tuesday, P and I had dinner at a Mexican place called Guapo’s – I swear, I can find Mexican food anywhere I go! Luckily, the food was fantastic – we both ordered several tacos that came “a la carte” … it was a great way to kick off vacation! Sadly, their drinks were SUPER sweet and way over priced – but hey, I’ll take the good tacos!


The weather decided to NOT cooperate while we were there – even though we attempted the beach twice – it would appear from the clouds every now and then to tease us, but then it would go back to being overcast and gray. I think this was the longest P and I saw the sun for the entire 4 days ….


The weather WAS disappointing, but hey, we got some shopping in anyway πŸ˜‰ Can’t complain about that, right?


The turtle trend continues – aren’t those napkin rings adorable? We picked up 4 of them for the dining room!! P also bought me a bracelet – my own version of the CC bracelet – #love! And Fiona got a new, hand-painted, treat box! It’s adorable, and P can actually fit his hand into it – a definite plus!

All in all, a good time away from home – a little relaxation, time with family, got to see K, who I miss tons, and I did get my toes in the sand, even it wasn’t all that warm and sunny! We also took Fiona for lots of walks every day, which made me feel a lot better about not getting a “real” workout in. It was a great “last hurrah” for summer before the school year starts up again! As much as I am hating to say goodbye to summer, I think I am starting to be ready for fall… the pumpkin cravings have started!


CC Margarita – #yum #moreplease

Speaking of the school year, check out my “back to school” gift to myself – I bought these Nine West flats from Zappos and I am in love. Since almost my entire wardrobe is some shade of blue, I may wear them every day! Gotta have new school shoes!!


The other fun buy of the day was this little beauty …


We found this little gem at the ReStore that is run by Habitat for Humanity – which is one of our favorite places to browse around for good deals, and “old house” hardware that we can never seem to find anywhere else!! We came across this stand and I kinda fell in love with it … especially after reading this post from DIYPlaybook about how to style a bar cart!! The piece needs some work/modifications and a little love, but I think it’s going to be amazing in our dining room as our “bar”! I’m super excited about it!! You just never know what you’re going to find!

On the agenda today is a whole lot of birthday things – cinnamon rolls for breakfast (P’s request), and then I have an extra special birthday cake to make – I’m a little nervous about it, since it seems to be like quite the process! Later we’re going out to birthday at the New World Bisto- a place that we have wanted to try but haven’t yet. Everything on the menu looks so delicious! (but really, the beet and goat cheese salad sealed the deal for me!) I can’t wait to celebrate Pete’s awesomeness πŸ˜‰ Hope he likes his gifts (and cake – fingers crossed on that one!)

Hope that you all are having a wonderful little Sunday too!!

Answer me this: Any birthday traditions in your family? What’s your favorite kind of cake? What did you do this weekend? Are you ready for fall?

~ Brittany

3 responses to “Cape Cod &a Birthday Boy!!

  1. It has just turn to Spring here in Australia not fall but I am loving that fact πŸ™‚

    Hope your man has a great birthday, with cake on the way and that many presents I don’t see why he can’t.

    I love my carrot cake by far!

Leave me some love!

