Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Thank You Body, You Are Beautiful

on August 7, 2013

I am so, so, SO happy about today – happy enough to cry, I think! And no, not because I am happier than a camel on hump day 😉 (although I do find that commercial hilarious!) Anyway, today is a big, big, BIG day for a certain little lady in my life …

Today is the first day of 3rd grade for Olivia- and she is back in school!!!!!!!!!!!

Quick re-cap: Olivia (my niece who lives in Geogria) contracted the Epstein-Barr virus back in February, which eventually led to the development of aplastic anemia. This is a blood disorder where the bone marrow becomes damaged and can no longer make stem cells which make red blood cells, white blood cells, and platelets. She has been through numerous blood draws, as well as blood transfusions, and platelet infusions – as well as about bijillion medications – most of which have some nasty side effects. She has had to be fed through IV since she had no appetite, had a PICC line in her arm, had jaundice, and has had no immune system at all. The past 6 months or so have been spent in and out of the Children’s Hospital in Atlanta. (A couple of months ago, I even urged my readers to become someone’s hero!) You can imagine that it has been a very tough, stressful, and scary 6 months – Livi even had to spend her birthday in the hospital, and she has been out of school that entire time as well

.

A year ago, in VA

In the last 2 weeks or so, she has FINALLY started to signs of improvement, and her body seems to starting to make her blood cells again. So, she is able to return to school and so today is a very, VERY big important day J

080713_1441_ThankYouBod2.jpg

With Mom @ school!

This morning, I woke up kinda cranky as well as discouraged and frustrated about my body and not being able to take off the weight that I want to, despite working really hard (in my opinion).

Then I got to thinking about all that my brave niece has been through… and how P is currently experiencing a shoulder injury that is causing him tremendous amounts of pain and makes him pretty much immobile …

I started to look at myself a little differently after that. I was so very THANKFUL that my body is able to do everything I need it to do to get me through the day. I am SO thankful that I am able to move, and breathe, and all my automatic functions do what they are supposed to do! I am THANKFUL for my health and that I am able to move my body every day and push it to make fitness gains. I was able to get my BBBC workout yesterday without thinking twice, even though it was a tough one. Today I will do a longer run and on Friday I am running a 5K race. I am so thankful that I am able to do those things.

080713_1441_ThankYouBod3.jpg

There are so many days that I look in the mirror and an unhappy about something or many somethings – my eyes are uneven, I have another pimple, I have ugly scars on my legs, I don’t have a 6pack, but I do have a muffin top, I hate my thighs .. all those things that tend to plague me every day. I am never very thankful for all the things my body CAN do each and every day. That’s a mindset that I need to work on changing. I am lucky for my body and my health.

080713_1441_ThankYouBod4.jpg

THANK YOU EYES – for letting me see the beauty in the world, for letting me see the people that I love, and to

THANK YOU BELLY – for turning all that food that I eat into fuel for my body and continuing to keep me going every hour of the day

THANK YOU LEGS– for taking me where I need to go, for letting me run, for letting me experience so many adventures

THANK YOU HEART – for also fueling my body with what it needs to function, letting my love others, and letting me help others

THANK YOU MUSCLES – for working every day to move my body and letting me accomplish what needs to be done, and also what I want to be done… thank you for letting me push you hard on some days and for helping to take care of others.

THANK YOU SCARS – for reminding me of the trauma I’ve been through, for giving me a unique story, for inspiring me to keep moving forward even when it gets hard.

Today, I will be thankful that I am healthy, that I am living, and have a body that lets me accomplish so much each and every day. I will continue to do my best to keep it healthy and strong so that I can continue to set and accomplish goals. My body is beautiful – even without the sculpted muscles and the 6 pack – without the skinnier thighs and the size 2 waist. I am beautiful because of all that I can do every day, because of all the good I can do, because of who I am.

My body IS beautiful for everything that it can do every day. And I will choose to be thankful for that today.

**REMINDER – you can still enter the Simone-France GIVEAWAY and win skincare products for your skin type! It’s open until Friday AM! **

Answer me this: What makes you beautiful? What do you love about your body and what are you thankful that it can do?

~ Brittany

2 responses to “Thank You Body, You Are Beautiful

  1. I am thankful that it made 2 wonderful blessings in my life – my children

    • Brittany says:

      I have not yet experienced becoming a mommy– but I find the whole process so amazing and miraculous!! The best thing a woman’s body could do, I think!!

Leave me some love!

