Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Back in the Saddle …

on July 22, 2013

Good Morning Friends! (wow, I don’t sounds like a work in a school at all!) I’m back in the saddle again on this lovely Monday morning, and this is how I’m starting off my day.

Yes. Double fisting caffeine. Yowzers.

How did the weekend treat you? I hope you got an ice cream fix for National Ice Cream Day 😀 Sadly, I did not, due to most of the day being spent traveling … but we were able to get some ice cream (at “Sundae School”) on Saturday night, so I had my peanut butter sundae with cookie dough ice cream … YUM (and I also had ice cream on Friday at the rest stop the day before… oops! #sorryimnotsorry) – So I think I had ice cream day covered. 😉

As I mentioned yesterday, we spent about a day and a half on Cape Cod – P’s parents have a house out there and spend most of the summer on the cape. Sadly, this was not exactly a leisure trip, as P’s grandfather passed away several weeks ago, and we went out for the service this weekend. It was nice for the whole family to spend time together, and I was able to meet some cousins of P that I haven’t been able to, as they live far away. We were on our way back to NY in the early afternoon, but we did make a pit stop at the Wrentham outlets …

Love me some shopping!! Sadly, I can’t say it was all that productive of a shopping trip – I did pick up a new summer dress, a white t-shirt, and (of course) a new workout top (hey, it was on sale!) But for the 2nd time in a row, we were faced with a TON (and I’m talking busloads full) of people who did not speak English. The part that REALLY irked me though was that they (typically) had no concern or any awareness of the people around them. Literally stepping on my feet and walking in front of me in stores, walking 5 people across on the sidewalk and not making an attempt to move over at all, pushing through others to get to merchandise… REALLY? At one point, P was pulling the door open to a store, and a dude walked right out and into his arm, and then just stood there.

HELLOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO. Actual human being standing right here. I don’t get it.

Sadly, I think it’s becoming the way of the world that no one seems to be concerned about other people. I know that’s probably a overgeneralization, but I really think that it’s true. So many people are only concerned about themselves and what they need or, more typically, what they want, that they don’t even open up their eyes and realize that other people are also trying to live their life too.

Common courtesy seems to have gone out the window. It’s not difficult to hold a door open for someone, or say “thank you”, or let someone out while you’re driving … yet no one seems to care anymore. I think that’s why I love to hear and read about acts of random kindness… they make me believe that people still do care about humanity in general. One of my goals for the year was to perform more acts of random kindness, but I can’t say that I’ve done the best job of it – at least not on a consistent basis. So, I will choose to use my experience at the outlets to serve as a reminder to be more aware of performing good deeds/acts of kindness. They really are important to me. The world isn’t all about me (even if I think it should be sometimes :D), and I think connecting with others is part of the human experience. Plus, it’s good for the psyche!

Okay, I will get off my soapbox now.

I’m really, really, REALLY excited for this evening as, P and I are having a Monday night date night planned – thanks to a Groupon that’s about to expire, we are headed to the Melting Pot for dinner tonight – It’s one of our favorite places, and it was a deal that we couldn’t pass up. I am SO looking forward to just being able to spend some quality time with him – it feels like we’ve been run a little ragged over the last several weeks and we haven’t had much of an opportunity to just chat and re-connect. Plus, I’m totally wearing my new dress 😉

I hope your week is off to a good start – hard to believe that it’s already Monday! We just keep plugging right along!

Now, it you’ll excuse me, I still have coffee mug number 2 to drink! Cheers!

Questions for you: What as your last act of random kindness? How do you deal with rudeness? What was the best part of your weekend?

3 responses to “Back in the Saddle …

  1. olivetorun says:

    I am HUGE on small acts of kindness… every two weeks or so I pick a handful of teachers at my school to send a small note and treat to. Since I’m a teacher I know there are times that I feel like there is nothing but stress in our days and it’s nice to get a little pick me up. I really genuinely enjoy doing little things for people. 🙂

    p.s. Kill the with kindness.

    • Brittany says:

      I LOVE this idea!! I’m a school psychologist at a private non-profit, but I still think this is something I could do — here,we also give each other “puzzle bucks” for going above and beyond for someone, and also have a “sweet mug” that we pass around at our weekly staff meetings … but still, I think I could do something as well …. hmmmm. Got me thinking!!

Leave me some love!

