Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Finding Opportunities to Grow

on June 21, 2013

Yesterday, I had my performance review at work. We have them once a year around here at the end of the school year. It was a good review and administration is pleased with the year I’ve had (yay!) It’s always nice to realize that your bosses do notice all the good things that you do. Thumbs up for that one!

Anyway, we got to talking/brainstorming about areas where they (and I) would like to see me grow throughout the coming school year. It is no secret around here that I don’t love to do evaluations … I’m a school psychologist, so that’s a huge part of my job, and it’s why I “have” to be part of a school, actually. And while I don’t mind doing all the psych evals at all, I don’t love when it’s ALL I do. I much prefer interacting with the students and forming relationships with them – while evaluations are a necessary evil to get children services, I feel like the most valuable work I do is the direct work with the students.

That being said, I do have a fair amount of students on my counseling caseload (depends on the year) right now – but my main part of my job is the evaluations I do, and those take up a lot of time… which doesn’t leave me a whole lot of “free time” to pursue the things I like to do. But my bosses and I did talk about how I would really like to implement more social skills curriculum into all our classrooms.

I was happy with the discussion that we had, but I came back to my desk and really started thinking about my job and what/how I can change…

062113_1656_FindingOppo1.jpgTo be honest, there are many days when I don’t love my job. And that’s okay. However, I have stopped searching for opportunities and ways to change my job into what I would like it to be. In short, I’ve stopped looking for opportunities to really grow. Instead, I’ve just kinda been playing the “in limbo” game – doing what I need to do well, but that’s about it. I’ve kinda just been waiting for something else to happen – someone to ask me to do something more extra, something to just fall into my lap.

062113_1656_FindingOppo2.jpg

Yeah, it’s not gonna work like that. I need to be actively working and searching for opportunities to grow – both at work, and in life. It’s way too easy to stay inside the comfort zone… no one really likes to feel uncomfortable! I can’t just continue to “wait and see” – wait for something to happen or for some opportunity to wave at me from the street saying, “Hi! Here I am! Do this!” While I really wish that WOULD happen, it’s most likely not going to.

If you want to change, you have to work at it. That seems like such a simple statement. I’m pretty good at this when it comes to my workouts/diet/fitness level – I feel like I’m pretty good at pushing my limits, but not always. There are probably too many times when I say to myself “this pace is comfortable, speeding up is going to hurt. I’ll just do an easy run today” – but then I have no right to get upset when I don’t see changes! The same goes for life – it’s really easy to say, “this is who I am and this is how I do things. Take it or leave it.” In some ways, that’s a perfectly okay statement. But sometimes it’s not – like when you’re not happy, it’s negatively affecting relationships, or you just want to change.

062113_1656_FindingOppo3.jpg

I would like to push myself to actively grow over the next several months and to actively push myself to seek out opportunities to grow –as a person, as a girlfriend, as a school psychologist, as a runner. I don’t want to “wait and see” anymore. In this case, I can take control of what happens. And we all know how much I like to have control of things J I don’t have any kind of set plan to accomplish this – or even a starting point – but I think that’s okay right now. I just want to challenge myself to think and live a little outside of the comfort zone. It may be something like entering unfamiliar social settings, pushing my pace in workouts more, reading a different type of book, making time to teach social skills and researching the best way to do that, volunteering somewhere new (I’d really like to get involved in the Girls On the Run program!) … just things to make me grow.

062113_1656_FindingOppo4.jpg

I’ve already made one baby step actually. A few days ago I had a hair appointment, I knew that I was getting some color in my hair, which I’ve already had… but at the last minute, I decided to chop my hair off. Honestly, I regretted the decision immediately and cried on the way home … and more AFTER I got home. I hated it. Part of it was because I associate long hair with beauty, femininity, and sexiness… but I think the other part was that I was vaulting myself out of my comfort zone…. So now, I am working on embracing my new hair … I’ll get there J I’m learning how to grow a little bit!

062113_1656_FindingOppo6.jpg

As of 3:30 today, I am officially on summer vacation for 2 weeks *HOORAY* so this is the perfect time to start this new quest … as well as relax, get some sun, maybe do some day trips, and get some DIY projects done J

Cheers to the weekend!!!!!!

How do you live outside the comfort zone???

3 responses to “Finding Opportunities to Grow

  1. Aw, I like your hair! Chopping your hair is definitely a hard decision to make since it’s semi-permenant for a while. I think it looks good though 🙂

    I’ve definitely had to learn to live outside my comfort zone since I started my own Mary Kay business. I am terrible on the phone and hate calling people. But now I have to do a lot of that. I’m learning each day as I go, and trying to take it one step at a time as well.

    • Brittany says:

      Thanks for the compliment on my hair — it’s deifnitely growing on me!! I mostly hate that I can’t really pull it back!! I HATE making phone calls too — that was actually one of my answers on the survey I did yesterday! I used to beg someone to call for me!

  2. Your new hair looks great!!! I cut all my hair off in January and had moments of loving it and regret as well but at the end of the day hair always grows back but honestly I love it on you, it looks great! 🙂

Leave me some love!

