Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

ABC’s of me – Survey style

on June 20, 2013

So, I saw this survey this AM on Tina’s blog – and I decided to “borrow it” (well, she did tag me, kinda)… and really? Who doesn’t love a good survey? It kinda does make me feel a little “old school” J

A. Attached or Single? 
ok, you should already know the answer to this one…. Attached. Pete and I just celebrated 5 years together
J Some days, I really think it’s a miracle that we haven’t killed one another 😉 … but I know that he’s my other half…. Couldn’t get through life without him! I’m pretty lucky

062013_1606_ABCsofmeS1.jpg

B. Best Friend?  Oooh – see, that’s a little bit more tough… I’m not the girl who has had the same best friend since she was five – I’ll say my mom, because she is always the person I talk everything through with – she understands me, and she is the best listener I know. P comes in at a close second.

062013_1606_ABCsofmeS2.jpgMy mother may stop talking to me now though!

C. Cake or pie?  You would think that these questions would be easy. Most of the time I would chose cake – chocolate cake that includes some sort of peanut butter or raspberry filling or frosting. Unless it’s fall – then I will typically crave apple pie. I make a mean apple pie … but sadly, P does not like pie AT ALL , so I don’t make it very often. I need to find someone to share pie with.

D. Day of choice? Has anyone actually said Monday? Well I won’t be the first!! I choose Saturday (big surprise!) – I’ve usually caught up on some sleep by then, and P and I tend to have “date day” together or accomplish something around the house.

E. Essential Item? Really? This question is impossible. Okay, here’s my kinda pathetic answer – my iPhone. I’d really be lost without it. (no really, I have to use the GPS all the time!) Plus, I can pretty much do anything on it. Except the laundry. And cleaning the littlerboxes… okay, maybe not anything.

F. Favorite color? Blue. Definitely blue. If you want me to be more specific, then cerulean.

062013_1606_ABCsofmeS3.jpgG. Gummy bears or worms? Sour gummy worms!

H. Home town? Niskayuna (in NY) – the name means “field of corn” … I didn’t move all that far … I’m kind of a home-body

I. Favorite Indulgence? Dessert – especially fro-yo right now! Oh and pedicures. Gotta have pretty toes in the summer J

062013_1606_ABCsofmeS4.jpg

J. January or July? Who in their right mind would chose January? Absolutely nothing happens in January except for a ton of snow, wind, ice, and below freezing temps. No thanks. July. Definitely July.

K. Kids? Not the human kind! But Fiona, Bella, and Jackson are my fur-kids – I couldn’t live without them!



L. Life isn’t complete without? Coffee, puppy kisses, a book (or 10), good sweat session, peanut butter, chapstick, family, sunshine, good music … ok, I’ll stop now.

M. Marriage date?  Let’s go with “none yet” and then not touch this one with a ten foot pole today ‘mkay?

N. Number of brothers/sisters? 2 brothers … I’m the middle child – Craig still lives with Mom and Dad, and Chris lives way too far away in Georgia … fun fact: Chris and I are 11 years apart, and Craig and I are 6 years apart (this is starting to sound like a math problem). Despite always wanting a sister, I love both my brothers a whole lot!



O. Oranges or Apples? Apples. No question. When I was little, I had an allergic reaction to oranges and orange juice, and I have no desire to eat them now. Except for mandarin oranges. I like those.

P. Phobias? Failure. But who doesn’t? I also have a fear of the phone (I guess that’s ironic since my iPhone is my essential item?) – I HATE calling people on the phone – especially when I’m looking for information. I’ve had to get over it – and now have to use the phone a lot at work, so it’s not really all that bad now most of the time. But I used to beg my mother to call people for me.

Q. Quotes?  I have 2 that I rely on a lot: “Every time you say good-bye a new adventure begins” (that one I’ve been using since I was in elementary school) and:


R. Reasons to smile? My summer break starts next week – 2 weeks off before summer school begins! Hallelujah!

S. Season of choice? Summer … I love flip-flops, warm weather, the sun, picnics, hikes, summer cocktails, concerts, get together, and fire pit s’mores!


T. Tag 5 People. Sprouts & Squats, The Run Within, 10for10, Olivetorun, PerfectionIsn’tHappy, and YOU!

U. Unknown fact about me? Hmmm…. I had a fasciotomy (surgery) on both legs for interior compartment syndrome when I was 16. I have some awful lovely scars on both legs now.

V. Vegetable? I’ve come a long way in my vegetable liking J But my 2 favorites are red peppers and mushrooms

W. Worst habit? P could probably answer this one better than I can! I’m going to go with making a mountain out of a molehill and going into catastrophic mode before I even stop to think. I also care too much about what others think. Sometimes that’s a good thing, but more often than not, it leads to hurt feelings.

X. Xray or Ultrasound? Do I have to pick one? This is a crappy question. I’ve had several x-rays. I’ll pick ultrasound if it means I’m pregnant!

Y. Your favorite food? Can I say dessert? Technically, that’s a food whole lot of foods. Okay, okay, TACOS!


Z. Zodiac sign? Taurus. “one who has immense perseverance, even when others have given up. Solid and persistent, just like the bull, which is Taurus’ well suited symbol. Taurus’s have a well-known reputation for being stubborn, which is not necessarily a bad thing. The stubborn streak can cause Taurus to butt heads and conflict with other strong character types. Taurus are not fond of change. They like the familiar and routine comfort of life. Taurus is easy going and not one to pick a fight but should some poor souls attempt to provoke Taurus, the wrath will be known, for they have a temper underneath the calm surface. Taurus are very responsive to their surroundings. They like decorations, color, anything that appeals to all the senses. Taurus like possessions and the Taurus home is nicely decorated with lots of things. They prefer comfortable and creative settings and objects. Taurus likes security, in every aspect of their lives from home, to love, to career. Tend to be over-sensitive.” Yup. That’s me.

Your turn! Tell me some of you ABC’s! I want to know all about you J

4 responses to “ABC’s of me – Survey style

  1. Beth H. says:

    I’m a Taurus too and I see a lot of me in the description of Taurus. That quote – What doesn’t challenge you doesn’t change you is one I use a lot during my workouts whether it is strength or cardio workouts.

  2. Mom says:

    Hello girl….isnt that blue….chokoid?? XOXO

Leave me some love!

