Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Don’t sweat the small stuff — Celebrate it!

on May 3, 2013

Just like the rest of the working world, I am so, so, SO happy that Friday is here 🙂 The weather this weekend is going to be absolutely amazing, and we have some fun plans in the works. P.S. We have wrap-around daycare at my school and on the way up to my office, I heard a little peanut yell “I am BATMAN!” and his friend then yelled “Well I am SPIDERMAN!!” #love. I kinda want to ditch my work and go play 🙂 I can be Catwoman… or Ironman! I’d be totally okay with being able to jet off into the air every time that I needed to be somewhere!

So, as any teacher/educator/school psychologist knows, this is a crazy time of year…. especially for those of us involved in special education … this time of year is lovingly dubbed “annual review season” … although for some kids (since we take children from many different school districts) this “season” started in January! I digress. Anyway, we have been hard at work getting their testing done, writing reports, reflecting on their progress, and deciding on goals for next year! Busy, Busy, Busy … this year has been especially hard for us at my school because we’ve had a whole lot of staff changes over the last 4 months. Yesterday, I was involved in conversations about a particularly challenging student, as his speech therapist was feeling extremely frustrated with his progress and their relationship that day… plus, she is new and has only been with us for about 6 weeks. (I tend to do a lot of “teacher” counseling on some days — sometimes I think I’m better at this then I am with my students 🙂 ) … We got to talking about what this particular student “looked like” when he started with us back in September… and although he continues to be challenging, he actually has made progress. It’s easy to forget things like that.

That kind of ended up being a long-winded introduction to my point 🙂

Sometimes, I find that it is really easy to get caught up in the details of our lives that we forget to take a step back and really think about the progress that we, and people in our lives even, have made.

This isn’t something that should be overlooked! or forgotten about … or diminshed!

Even progress that we might consider “Small” is STILL progress, and we should take the time to celebrate it!! I need to remember this when i do my measurements , etc. for BBB — even if I’ve lost 1/8 of an inch … that 1/8 of an inch is progress … and honestly, I had to work REALLY hard to make that “small” progress. I really need to at least pat myself on the back for that!! I spend a lot of my day on my “soap box” about using positive reinforcement and how it is so important to praise kids (and significant others!) to let them know what you want them to do. So much more effective then negative consequences. Why don’t I do that for myself? I deserve that too!

There is something to be said for always striving for more and finding ways to better yourself AND setting high standards for yourself. But there is also something to be said for recognizing the victories you’ve achieved and being happy with where you are as well. Life can be very hard some days … and I think it’s absolutely okay (and necessary.. and healthy!) to toot your own horn. Being proud of youself is sometimes looked at as “silly” or “egotistical”, I think. But it shouldn’t be. We should all be able to, and feel comfortable with, feeling pride about our own accomplishments. I’m not going to buy a billboard every time I accomplish something 🙂 But I should at least take the time to reflect on the small victories and feel good about them!

Today, I will celebrate the fact that I’ve made it to the end of the week, that today will be workout # 4 of the week, that I was able to use 15lbs to bench press in BBB workout, and that I’ve made some good connections with friends and loved ones this week. I’m proud of myself for all of those things. *Toot Toot*

Questions:  What will you celebrate today? Toot your own horn with me! Any plans for the weekend?

blogsignature

3 responses to “Don’t sweat the small stuff — Celebrate it!

  1. great message, I mean I think we tend to sweat the small stuff instead of celebrating it all the time.

  2. Just what I needed to read today 🙂 I’ve been struggling with the fact that I’m not progressing lately, the weight loss hasn’t changed, my whole body just seems to be in this holding pattern. Instead of letting it get to me (again), I’m reflecting on where I was a year ago and how much better I’m doing now!

    • Brittany says:

      Hi Jen! I’m so glad that I had the “right” words to inspire you! It can be so so SO hard to NOT see progress 😦 … but it really is important to focus on even the small things and really celebrate what we HAVE accomplished already!

Leave me some love!

