Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

I AM a Runner

on April 17, 2013

In yesterday’s post, I said, “I am a runner” — that was the first time I’ve uttered those words since pre-surgery in high school! Even though I’ve run off and on since then, and have been able to run more seriously for the past year, I never thought of myself as a runner – just a person that runs.

The distinction, at least in my head, is fairly significant. In my head, a runner was many things:

  • Someone who runs daily
  • Someone who was able to run many, many miles at once
  • Someone who had opinions and knowledge on fuel gels, heel strike patterns, Garmin watches, and sneakers
  • Someone who trained for, and participated in, many, many, races
  • Someone who is so committed to running that they owned fancy “running gear”
  • Someone who has a decent mile time (whatever that means)
  • Someone who does tempo runs, fartleks, intervals, and long runs

I didn’t (and still don’t) fit into many of those categories! Until very recently, my body has not let me run more than 2-3 times a week. I haven’t run more than 5 miles at once. I have ran one race in the last yeat (but made it a personal goal to race more), and I tend to run in inexpensive capris and tank tops. I recently just went to get fitted for a new pair of sneakers and invested in compression sleeves and socks (so that I COULD run more, hopefully).  I’d love to actually attempt a half-marathon, but don’t know if my body (read: shins/calves) could handle it. I usually just run on my treadmill at home. I’d like to get faster, but am not really focusing on that. My mile time is kinda sucky.

Yesterday I realized that none of that really matters  at all.

Yesterday, I ran 4.26 miles in support of those affected by the tragedy at the Boston Marathon…. some of that was block intervals for BBB, and the rest of it was just #forBoston. While I was running, I was saying to myself: “I AM a runner. I run because I can. I run for Boston.”  It was one of the most inspirational, exhilirating, best runs that I’ve done. Even though it was hard.

Here’s what I CAN tell you about myself and running:

  • I run because I love it.
  • I run because I feel incredible once I’ve finished.
  • Not every run is awesome- in fact, some of them downright suck. a lot
  • My legs always hurt. I’m good friends with my giant ice pack
  • I am determined to race more this year. I have even flirted with running a longer race (than a 5K)
  • I want to start running outside, even though that kinda scares me
  • I’ve started researching those watches/bands and I covet snazzy running attire
  • I am proud to be part of the running community
  • I run because I enjoy it, it makes me feel alive, and I hate it when I CAN”T run
  • It helps me to relieve stress and anxiety, think clearer, and problem-solve (cheaper then therapy!)
  • I run because it makes me feel good about me.
  • I run because it makes me strong.

So today, I proudly proclaim, that not only do I run, but I am indeed a Runner once more. And I’m so proud of that.

blogsignature

6 responses to “I AM a Runner

  1. Beth H. says:

    I absolutely LOVE this post. Although I run on a consistent basis, I didn’t feel right calling myself a runner because of my preconceived notions what a runner was. I felt since I’m not particularly fast enough or unable to run long distances, I was not a runner. Well, after reading your post I am a RUNNER. I’m running in a 5k/10k race this weekend. I’m originally signed up for the 5k part of the race, but I’m going to attempt the 10k instead.

    Your blog posts are always so relatable to me.

    Happy Running!

    • Brittany says:

      Beth, I love getting comments from you– they always make me feel like my blog has a purpose! You ARE a runner!! I can’t wait to hear how your race went — when are you going to start blogging again??

  2. Maureen says:

    Love this post. For a long time, I hesitated to call myself a runner, and when I did I always qualified it by saying “but I’m not very fast and sometimes I stop to walk.” The truth is, none of that matters.

    • Brittany says:

      Hi Maureen! You have a great point– I always qualify my statements as well… But it doesn’t matter how far or how fast you run!! It matters that you are doing it and loving it 🙂 You ARE a runner too!!

  3. Amy says:

    Great post! I used to do the same thing. I always felt less than an actual runner because I didn’t feel good enough. But truth is I run so I’m a runner. 🙂

    • Brittany says:

      Hi amy! Thanks for commenting on my post 🙂 I still catch myself qualifying myself with “buts” … but you’re right – I run, so I am a runner too!!

Leave me some love!

