Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Dear Self: a letter to 18 year old me

on April 5, 2013

While I was walking Ms. Fiona yesterday, it was breathtakingly beautiful, serene, and mostly quiet. We walked a little over 2 miles (a tired puppy makes for a happy doggy mama!) and I found myself thinking back to college due to the numerous posts/blogs/FB status updates that were for “throwback thursday.” I thought about how much my life has changed and what I wish I would have done differently during that time. And so, I give you a letter to my 18 year old self

My view while walking - awesome.

My view while walking – awesome.

Dear Self,

College. wow. You made it! You packed up all your belongings, bought some shower flipflops and a robe, and made it through the goodbyes to Mom and Dad. This is it. The beginning to a whirlwind, exciting, overwhelming, fast, awesome stage in your life. The challenges ahead appear daunting, and so I lend you my best advice from your now thirty year old counterpart (gosh, when did we get so old?!? Ug! Time to invest in some wrinkle-cream! ;))

  • Take time to live a little. Your ENTIRE college career does not have to be about textbooks, papers, and striving for a 4.0 GPA. This is the time to figure out what makes you happy and who you want to be. There’s a lot more to learning than just schoolwork
  • Make time for your friends and cherish and nurture the relationships you make – friendships take work, and they will be the people who have your back when you need it most
  • Thank your mother for teaching you how to do laundry! You are not one of those embarrassing freshmen who just threw their red tanktop in with their whites…
  • Go to the damn dining hall! Mom & Dad shelled out lots of money for that meal plan – Chef Boyardee does not a meal make —  actually, just remember to EAT. regularly. 90lbs doesn’t look so good on you.

  • See that boyfriend in front of you? You are going to do a lot of living and growing with him – and there is going to be quite a bit of heartbreak and tears. That’s part of growing up. However, don’t get so caught up in being in this relationship that you can’t see the bigger picture … I advise you to really listen to your heart and gut about him.
  • Take time to enjoy college life – the parties, the events on campus, studying in the quad, road trips,move nights, the random drives at 2 AM. You’re going to miss this.

  • Study lots of different things — just because you have your heart set on a psychology degree doesn’t mean that there aren’t other other subjects that you may be passionate about. Don’t get yourself stuck on one course and not take the opportunity to dapple in other things. Who knows what opportunities may present themselves down the road.
  • Call your little brother. often. He’s your biggest fan.
  • You are going to be inducted into Psi Chi and be President of the Psych club – start thinking how you change things
  • Stop doubting yourself. You are amazing. And you CAN do this.
  • oh, and indulge in Ben & Jerry’s ice cream — it works wonders for the soul.

Love, Me

QOTD: What would you tell you 18 year old self? What would you do differently?

PS – Read Run Repeat is now on Facebook! Check it out!!

blogsignature

3 responses to “Dear Self: a letter to 18 year old me

  1. I love this post! All such good points! I wish I read these when I was 18. 🙂

Leave me some love!

