Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Meeting Jodi P and Some Yummy Eats {recipe}

on March 22, 2013

I wish I could describe to you the experience I had last night getting to meet Jodi Picoult in VT last night … it was truly a remarkable, indescribable, mind-blowing experience. (I will never chastise P again for listening to talk radio!) Even P admitted that she impressed him — and that’s really hard to do! Jodi Picoult was down-to-earth, funny, and just so real!! She signed both “The Storyteller” and “House Rules” for me and then we listened to her speak to Joe Donahue from WMAC radio – he was interviewing her for his show “The Book Show.” She talked about her stories, her life, her ideas, and her craft — so, so, cool!There was also a Q & A segment portion afterwards as well.

oh you know, just hanging out with my friend Jodi Picoult :)

oh you know, just hanging out with my friend Jodi Picoult 🙂

In case you really enjoy her books, here’s some interesting (ok, random) things that I picked up while listening:

  • All her book covers in Poland are cartoons
  • 47 % of her readers are actually men
  • She reads and answers every piece of fan mail that she receives
  • If there are children in the story, Jodi tends to write them when her children are not at the same age (i.e., when she wrote her book about teen suicide, her oldest child was 5) – there were 2 exceptions to this: When she wrote “Sing You Home”, one of her sons told  her that he was gay (through his college application essay) … I can’t remember the other one now – boo!
  • There are some chracters that Jodi actually hates – one is Amos Duncan from the book “Salem Falls”
  • Jodi always starts her books knowing the begining and the ending, but not the middle
  • The next book is tentatively titled “Elephant Graveyard” and is about elephant’s elaborate grieving process as well as a woman who is studying them, and goes missing – when her daughter turns 13 she wants to know what happened to her mother
  • Her next goal is to make herself a “household name” – like James Patterson is
  • several of her books are in the works for being made into a movie, and House Rules is being made into a series, by Hallmark, I believe
Mom came too!

Mom came too!

Pretty cool right? I’m was so impressed by her, and still all warm and fuzzy about getting to meet her 🙂 PS – we did make it to Cilantro for dinner afterwards!

Moving on to food — here is the recipe for Rigatoni Lasagna that I promised you! This recipe is adapted from a recipe from a magazine, but I never wrote down where it came from, so I can’t give credit to the original source.

Rigatoni

Rigatoni Lasagna

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb rigatoni, penne, or other tube-shaped pasta
  • 4 italian sweet sausage links (casings removed) or  chopped chicken sausage  (last time I used sun dried tomato chicken sausage and it was awesome!)
  • 1 jar marinara sauce (26 oz)
  • 1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese
  • 2 tablespoons italian seasoning
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder (approximae)
  • 2 teaspons basil (approximate)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper

Directions:

  1. Coook pasta in a large pot of boiling salt water, according to package directions & drain ( I suggest using the “al dente” cooking method)
  2. Meanwhile, heat a large skillet over medium high heat -add sausage, cook until no longer pink -or heated through, if using chicken sausage- (about 5 minutes). If you’re using sausage, remove from the skillet and discard the drippings, and then return sausage to the pan
  3. Add marinara sauce to the sausage and bring to a simmer over medium heat
  4. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, stir together rictotta cheese, parmesan cheese and seasonings.
  5. Toss drained pasta with the ricotta mixture
  6. Place pasta in serving bowls and top with sauce
  7. Enjoy!

I hope you all have some wonderful and relaxing plans for the weekend 🙂

Questions: What’s your favorite Jodi Picoult book?

5 responses to “Meeting Jodi P and Some Yummy Eats {recipe}

  1. That is so awesome!!! I’ve never read any of her books until last week, when I read Sing You Home and then I picked up House Rules over the weekend. I seriously want to read every single one of her books now, she is an amazing writer!!!

  2. […] had this one in my stash for quite a while … you may remember from this post that this is the book that Jodi Picoult signed for me J I’d been holding off on reading it […]

Leave me some love!

