Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Banana Baked Oatmeal

on February 12, 2013

Saturday mornings were made for bigger (read: more involved than protein smoothies) at our house — My go-to is almost always pancakes, unless we’re smart enough to plan ahead and get the fixin’s for french toast 🙂 This past weekend P was outside shoveling and snow blowing “Nemo” away (we only got about 6 inches), so I decided that I would get to work on a yummy, tummy-filling breakfast. I wanted something that would have some staying power, and thus far my protein pancakes have been a definite fail (unless you like the taste of mushy sawdust). I decided to try my first attempt at baked oatmeal — and I have to say, it was both delicious and hearty – a perfect start to a cold winter day 🙂

bakedoatmeal3

This recipe was adapted from Gina’s recipe for Baked Oatmeal with blueberries and bananas at Skinnytaste.com — this is one of my “go-to” spots for recipes, and if you haven’t ever tried her skinny taco dip, you must!

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium bananas (sliced)
  • 2 cups strawberries (chopped)
  • 1/4 cup agave (or honey)
  • 1 cup uncooked quick oats
  • 1/2 cup chopped or sliced nuts (I used almonds)
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/8 cup of baking cocoa
  • 1 cup original almond milk (or other millk of choice)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • Mini chocolate chips (for sprinkling on top)

bakedoatmeal2

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375; spray a 8×8 baking dish with cooking spray
  • Arrange the banana slices in the bottom of the baking dish, sprinke 1/2 of the strawberries over the bananas along with 1/2 tsp of the cinnamon, and half of the honey/agave (I just used the bottle and squirted some in a “swirl-like pattern”.
  • cover with foil, and bake for 15 minutes, or until the bananas are soft
  • Meanwhile, in a medium bowl, combine the oats, half of the nuts, baking powder, remaining cinnamon, salt, and baking cocoa – stir together
  • In a seperate bowl, whisk the the remaining honey/agave, milk, egg, and vanilla extract
  • Remove the bananas from the oven and and and pour the oat mixture over the bananas
  • Pour your milk mixture over the oats, trying to pour it as evenly as possible
  • Sprinkle the remaining strawberries, nuts, and mini chocolate chips over the top (I also sprinkled mine with a little raw sugar as well)
  • Bake for another 30 minutes, until the oatmeal is set and the top is golden brown
  • Serve warm from the oven (although, I did find out that it also reheats well!)

bakedoatmeal1

As I said before, it was an easy, delicious breakfast, with ingredients that I had on hand in my stash – I’m sure you could also subsitute other kinds of fruit as well! I found that this oatmeal filled me up and kept me satisified for about 3-4 hours 🙂 Let me know if you try it out!!!  Your belly will thank you 😀

5 responses to “Chocolate Covered Strawberry Banana Baked Oatmeal

  1. i have never tried baking oat meal but it sounds good

  2. I loveee baked oatmeal, especially the crunchy edges- yum! And anything is always better when topped with chocolate 😉

  3. Yeah we didn’t get too much over here either…thank goodness…I wasn’t ready for that LOL. I’ve seen a lot of recipes for baked oatmeal…glad you enjoyed it.

Leave me some love!

