Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

*Snow Day*

on February 8, 2013

I’m ready for the snowstorm…. C’mon Nemo (seriously, who thought of that name? He’s a cute little fish!)… bring it. Not much is happening in terms of the weather honestly — the snow is coming down … but I can still see the ground.. it’s supposed to get heavier this evening! But school was closed for the day, so it’s a snow day for me! Which means it’s a certified stay in your jammies and catch up on TV for a little while 🙂 Gotta love that, I’m finally catching up with the Bachelor! And no, the bed is NOT made, but, that’s mostly because I’m doing laundry/changing the linens 😉 In a little while I plan to take Princess Fiona out for a jaunt before the snow gets too high!

As I was sitting here vegging out and trying really hard to do what I WANT to do for once… I was thinking about how little I do that and how hard it is for me to practice “Me time” or “self love.” It makes me feel selfish and kinda gives me anxiety … but at the same time, I know I really need it… P was texting me from work about various weekend plans/requests/obligations in February… and I just felt myself getting more and more frustrated and irritable and … exhausted actually. Is that weird?

I really struggle to find a balance between the things I need to do, the things I feel like I should do, and the things I want to do. I’ve already stated that I have a hard time relaxing if I feel like there are things “hanging over my head” AND I have a hard time saying “no.” I know that leads to major “burn out” really quickly and yet, I don’t know how to make the choice for myself and not feel guilty about it. It’s felt AMAZING to read my book and watch tv and stay in my jammies thus far today… but in the back of my head I still feel guilty.

Well, this post is turning into a “debbie downer” – sorry friends!! I am truly enjoying my time away from work and having the house and time to myself. I know that I need to do it more often and remember that I need to treat myself with importance too. I just need to figure out how to do that!! What do you all do to practice self-love? Do you feel guilty too?

One response to “*Snow Day*

  1. man I am jealous of the snow day except I wont’ lie, I am not so jealous of that snow. I find it hard to strike that balance too between what I need to do and all those ‘should’ statements. self love is a really tough one for me, I am glad to see that you are working on it.

Leave me some love!

