Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

But I have to make the bed!!!!

on February 6, 2013

Friends … I have a confession to make. I am a complete control freak. and I’m not even an “in the closet” control freak — I am totally 100% a wacko control freak ( I have issues. I know. it’s okay). For the last 2 days, I’ve been catching myself looking at the clock as I’m getting ready in the morning, and thinking to myself “But I have to make the bed!!” because it’s just one of those things that I do before I leave the house. (side tangent: I was so excited when I changed jobs, thus leaving later, and P started getting up earlier because of the puppy because it meant I could make the bed in the morning instead of when I got home! I.am.a.weirdo.)

So yes. I am a bonafide, self-proclaimed control freak. I feel safe when I am on control and when things are structured. Routine and rules make me happy. It also drives Pete crazy, at times. I like things when they are neat, orderly, and organized. oh and clean, let’s not forget clean. When the clutter starts to build up in the house, my brain starts to go nuts and I get anxious and irritable… which is usually when I start chucking things out… and realize I threw something important out 2 days later (oops)… it doesn’t help that P subscribes to the “leave it where it falls” philosophy … he’s come a long way since we started dating (and realized that if he didnt want to listen to me nag and bitch, then he should probably put his clothes in the hamper rather than on the floor 🙂 )… but I know that I tend to go a little psycho about things. Case in point: the fridge is being delivered today *YAY*, so P is home to accept the delivery. Before I left for work this AM, he told me, “don’t worry honey, I’ll pick up the mess before the delivery people come so they don’t think our house is dirty. You know you’ll stress about it!” Yikes. (totally true, by the way).

Control  freaks like lists, so here’s some of my … idiosyncracies we will call them 🙂

  • routine, routine, routine — when I come home I do the following: let Fiona out, put dishes away, do the new dishes, pull out dinner prep, make the bed (if I have to), change, workout, shower, dinner, do the dishes, make my lunch, TV, take out my clothes, bedtime snack, read, sleep – god forbid anyone tries to change things up…. I may go ape shit (ok, not really, but I may get irritable) — the same thing goes if something changes in the weekly schedule! Sundays are “get ready for the week day” which includes cleaning, laundry, ironing, menu planning, grocery shopping, and food prep…I get very anxious if something mesess with those activities
  • I tend to take on too much because I know it will get done if I do it.
  • I have a hard time asking for help (I know the way I like things done, and I feel like I should do it)
  • I like to make sure the shoes are put away in the entryway before I go to bed
  • I can’t relax until all the dishes are done
  • dust on the stairs drives me bananas
  • our menu plan makes my heart happy
  • I like to put things on my to-do list that I know I can cross off (i.e., “go to the bathroom”)
  • I *may* like to color code things

Well, that all made me sounds like I am completely nutso 🙂 I swear I’m almost normal 😉 So much of life is out of my control, I guess I just feel like it’s nice to be in control of some things. I know that being this way can be a good thing, it keeps me highly organized and functioning every day, but it can also have its drawback too. I have a hard time being spontanous, and I know that the most fun can happen when you just let yourself go! I know that I cannot plan every second of my life, but I also don’t want to waste time.

I hope you all have an awesome Wednesday — I’m going to *try* to go with the flow today … you know, because the bed is already made, and I can now cross “write blog* off my list! 😀

6 responses to “But I have to make the bed!!!!

  1. runninguphills says:

    Ahhhh I wrote a post about this last week!!! Two peas in a pod friend! xo

    • Brittany says:

      haha i remember that! We are 2 peas in a pod 🙂 As I was thinking “I have to make the bed” this morning, I was also thinking, “girl, you’re crazy!” *~*Brittany*~*

  2. I am the exact same way, no joke. You nailed it for all those things. I hate asking for help because i have to do it on my own. so terrible. i am working on giving up a little control but boy is it tough

  3. Kelley says:

    Are we completely and totally related?! I also *may* like to color code things. I am a single mom with one son at home who is actively involved in school and sports. I am also an office manager and assistant to the CEO…I HAVE to color code so I know what the hell is going on! Love this post by the way…I’m totally a control freak too. Also an oldest child, type A, Virgo…all wrapped up in one ME!

Leave me some love!

