Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Amazing Pumpkin Pancakes …. with apple cider syrup!

on October 4, 2012

I knew that if I put pumpkin in the title, all my fellow pumpkin-crazy bloggers would be interested!! 🙂 On Saturdays, we  tend to take the time to make a bigger breakfast – we enjoy searching out recipes and cooking together in the kitchen! Pancakes are a favorite of mine, but they often don’t fill us up for very long — and we all know what a disaster my protein pancakes have been thus far. Plus, I was feeling fall-ish and wanted something that was autumn like! Enter my fluffy, delicious pumpkin pancakes … with an added bonus of the special apple cider syrup!

these are simply amazing.

Pumpkin Pancakes – the following recipe makes approximately 10 pancakes (plus a couple smaller pancakes for your canine friend ;))

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups healthy heart bisquick
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon allspice
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon (plus a few extra sprinkes, because I love cinnamon)
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 3/4 cup of buttermilk
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar

Directions:

  1. Mix together the Bisquick, brown sugar, and spices
  2. In a separate bowl, mix together the buttermilk, pumpkin, egg, oil, and vinegar
  3. Add the pumpkin mixture to the dry ingredients and mix to combine

yummy pumpkin-y batter

4.  Heat a lightly oiled griddle (or frying pan) over medium heat (my griddle was set at about 300 degrees). Pour approximately 1/4 cup of better onto the griddle (I actually used my soup ladle!) and brown on both sides

Apple Cider Syrup

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch (or other thickening agent)
  • 1/4 teaspoon allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1 3/4 cups apple cider

Directions:

  1. Combine the brown sugar, cornstarch, allspice and nutmeg in a small saucepan
  2. Add the cider and stir
  3. Cook over medium heat, stirring often, until bubble and thick (this took me about 5 minutes or so)
  4. Pour over pancakes ( you will have leftovers!)

deliciousness bubbling away

Let me know if you try out the recipe! I may have to make some more over the long weekend!! We have leftover syrup, and I think we may use it on dinner -an apple cinnamon pork tenderloin that is currently cooking away in the crockpot! On a completely unrelated side note – other than it involves my stove – I made roasted chickpeas and roasted beets for the first time last night!

 Happy Thursday friends – the end is in sight 🙂

One response to “Amazing Pumpkin Pancakes …. with apple cider syrup!

  1. oh gosh those look so good, i need to buy some pumpkin so i can try them

Leave me some love!

