Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Welcome Fall…

on September 10, 2012

Check out the new doormat!

I think I am ready to embrace fall.. well, as much as I’ll ever be anyway! I do love the colors, scents, and flavors of fall, and snuggling up under blankets and hoodies (We tried making our first apple cinnamon smoothie this morning… it didn’t turn out so great! ). But I do hate putting the flip flops away and bundling up to take the dog for a walk! I am excited about bringing out the fall wardrobe though… I was starting to get bored of my summer gear. Along with fall comes the start of school… and I just started the first full week of the new year! Today was super busy, and I’d already forgotten how exhausted I can be by the end of the day. But I like to be busy!! I’m also fighting a cold/sinus infection that Pete has had for the last week… I thought I was safe by now, but I’ve felt kinda crappy the last 2 days.

Anywhoo… I thought I would show off 2 of my projects that I worked on over the summer for the new school year 🙂 First up, my new puppet stand! My poor puppets have been homeless for quite some time, and I coerced Peter into helping me make one rather than buy one (I LOVE my craft projects!). We bought a piece of wood to make the base, and then bought 2 large dowels that we cut into pieces to make the individual stands for the puppets… they are cut at different heights (8 and 10 inches I think?). Then I got to work staining them:

My outdoor staining center

I’m kinda surprised I opted for the honey-colored stain, since I’m usually drawn to a darker color! But I’m loving it. After 2 coats of stain and 2 coats of polyurethane, they were ready. Pete did all the measuring of the base and then drilled holes and screwed the posts into the bottom, and voila, a homemade (snazzy, if I do say so myself) puppet stand 🙂 A play therapy must!

It’s all assembled!

so stinkin’ cute!

My other project for the summer was making a “rice bin” for my office. I have a lot of students with sensory integration needs, and a lot of kids who just enjoy playing in rice 🙂 I use it as a reinforcing item for my kiddos, and it has been on my to-do list for quite some time. But I didn’t want any plain old rice… that’s boring!! So I made “rainbow” rice 🙂

I bought a ginormous bag of rice (5 lbs, I think), and then split it into 3 plastic ziplock bags… then I added 3 tablespoons of rubbing alcohol and a whole bunch of food coloring (all of the little tube). Then i zipped up the bags and squished it all around!! After a few hours, I spread the rice out on cookie sheets covered in aluminum foil to finish drying, since when I opened up the bags, I think I could have gotten a contact high from the rubbing alcohol!! Stinky! And yes, the colors stayed separated for approximately 10 seconds after my first kiddo played with it, but it looked pretty cool to start! Now it’s a neat mix of purple, blue, and green rice. I have several scoops in the box as well, and I plan to add some uncooked pasta and some smaller toys as well.

I am pleased how they all came out 🙂 Well, I’m off to scarf down some leftover spaghetti pie for dinner (yes, I made it AGAIN! Have you tried it yet!?) before I head my board meeting for the Down Syndrome Aim High Resource Center tonight.

Hope you’re having an awesome monday!

What was the best thing that you experienced today? Did you learn anything new?

One response to “Welcome Fall…

  1. what great craft projects, i want to start some this fall.

Leave me some love!

