Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

yummy broccoli?!

on September 5, 2012

It is rare that I cook in the kitchen without a recipe…but it’s also rare that I make something by following the directions either! I tend to be more adventurous when I’m baking though, as that’s more enjoyable to me then cooking. Pete does a lot of the cooking at home, unless I’m home on vacation… I tend to be the “sous chef.”  Last night, I decided to just wing it when I decided to use up some broccoli as our side dish.. and deliciousness happened. The fact that I did this using broccoli is kinda ironic, as I refused and hated to eat broccoli until I was in middle school (I think).  Anyway, dinner last night looked like this:

Homemeade meatballs and parmesan garlic broccoli

On the menu was homemade meatball subs– yum. Sometimes we make the meatballs out of ground turkey, but last night we made them out of ground beef… I wish I could tell you how those meatballs were made… but that’s Pete’s department, and every time he makes them, they are different!! Sadly, I did not get a great picture of my broccoli

I can however, tell you what I did for the broccoli – I didn’t measure anything out, so these are approximations 🙂

Parmesan Garlic Broccoli

–      1 head of fresh broccoli

–      3 tbsp butter

–      2 tsps of minced garlic

–      2 tsps minced onion (I used the dried version from my spice rack)

–      Salt & pepper (to taste)

–      Parmesan cheese

To make:

  1. Steam the broccoli for 7-8 minutes on the stove (we like ours a little crunchy)
  2. Melt the butter, and then stir in the garlic, onion, salt and pepper
  3. Pour over the cooked broccoli and stir
  4. Shake on some parmesan cheese
  5. Gobble it up

It was SO delicious and SO easy to make — just the way I like to cook! 🙂


Leave me some love!