Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Best laid plans…

on August 29, 2012

I swear I was going to get going early this morning…. get up, get the workout in, get going and get things done… typical me. Well, that didn’t work out so well. Oops. It’s been chilly here in the mornings… and Fiona has been quite the little snuggle bug… so we both curled up after Pete left for work… and fell asleep. As I said, oops. And right now, I have no desire to get my workout in. In my head this is my “last day” of vacation, well last day to me … we are leaving for Cape Cod tomorrow morning and staying with Pete’s family… so that becomes a whole lot more chaotic then just chilling with the puppy on the couch or in the sun!! So while I kinda wanted to relax today, I have to get stuff done. And I HAVE to get my workout in because I probably won’t have a chance to while we are away.

okay, okay, I’ll go do it as soon as this post is finished!

So, this amazing deliciousness happened last night:

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=9e6f987002&view=att&th=13972b5b1b884de5&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9367gl61gHTy5Zw6PYmOKL&sadet=1346251604439&sads=8D1EMEJCSOBbgGjpG6rQkPaK3cI&sadssc=1

mmmm…. spaghetti pie! (I made the little one for Pete to take to work for lunch today!)

I know that this was a success because Pete had seconds… and informed me he could have polished off the whole thing on his own! We had it with salad and some garlic knots. I based the recipe off Courtney’s spaghetti pie but I put my own twist on it, as I’m not a huge fan of cooked spinach 😉

Loaded Veggie Spaghetti Pie:

  • 1/2 a box (about 7 ounces) spaghetti (I used Ronzoni smart taste thin spaghetti)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 2 chicken sausages chopped (flavor of your choice – I used Al Fresco roasted garlic too)
  • 1/2 cup chopped red bell pepper
  • 1/3 cup chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup baby portabella mushrooms
  • 3/4 cup frozen broccoli
  • 1-1/2 cups marinara sauce (I used Franceso Rinaldi Marinara sauce)
  • 1/2 teaspoon oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon basil
  • 1 cup part-skim ricotta cheese
  • 1 cup shredded, part-skim mozzarella cheese
  • 3 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 9-inch pie plate with cooking spray (I cooked too much spaghetti, so I made a small pie too)
  2. Cook the spaghetti according to package directions for al dente pasta; drain, rinse, and be sure to remove any excess water. Place in a large bowl and toss with egg and 1/4 cup Parmesan cheese. Press spaghetti into bottom and up sides of prepared pie plate.
  3. Spray a medium non-stick skillet with non-stick cooking spray and heat over medium heat. Add frozen broccoli, chopped peppers, mushrooms, and onions, stirring occasionally until slightly translucent, about 5 minutes. Add chopped chicken sausage and continue cooking another 3-5 minutes, stirring occasionally
  4.  Add marinara sauce, oregano, and basil to your veggies and chicken sausage. Let simmer additional 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  5. Spread the ricotta cheese over the spaghetti crust evenly.
  6. Spoon the chicken sausage mixture on top of ricotta cheese layer. Sprinkle with mozzarella cheese and 3 tbsp Parmesan cheese.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes or until heated through. Remove and allow to sit about 10 minutes before cutting and serving.

It was delicious! I am quite looking forward to some leftovers for lunch myself 🙂 I did need to use extra cheese (ricotta, mozzarella, Parmesan) in the filling than what the recipe calls for when I made the little pie. I did not make an extra filling though.

Enjoy your day!

What do you use for motivation when you don’t feel like working out??

One response to “Best laid plans…

  1. Have a great trip!!
    Some things I do when I don’t feel like working out is laying out my shoes or yoga mat in a place I know I’ll see it, make a new playlist, or tell my husband to make me go. Lol. 🙂

Leave me some love!

