Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Thursday Thoughts

on September 12, 2013

Made it to Thursday!! Gosh this week feels long – my body sure is having a hard time getting back into the swing of things!! As I was thinking about this morning’s post, I had a whole lot of jumbled thoughts swimming around in there, so, I thought that I’d just go the random route J

  • Lately, I just cannot get enough water! Usually I struggle to hydrate as the weather starts to turn cooler (that hasn’t really happened yet though), but all I’ve wanted to do is guzzle, guzzle, guzzle water. I am finding myself with either dry mouth or I feel like I decided to eat a salt lick. I guess in the long run, this “problem” is not really a problem since you can’t really ever have enough water! But it’s kinda annoying to drink, and then continue to feel like I need more! In other news, I want to eat ALL THE THINGS about every 10 minutes, so maybe there’s some correlation?

     

  • I really, really, really want to go apple picking! P and I go just about every year, so it’s kind of become a tradition for us. We were going to head out last weekend, but then discovered that honeycrisp apples (which I am TOTALLY obsessed with), are not in season until mid-September. I am sure hoping that they are ready THIS weekend. P has even been asking me to make apple pie – which never happens – he’s not a big pie fan! Yesterday when I was in the grocery store, I did pick up some Macintosh apples though – and then forgot to pack one for lunch. Oops.

     

 

  • I’m not sure what it is about autumn impending that brings out the Betty Crocker in me, but I have had the quite the craving to bake lately. Part of my reason for picking up apples yesterday was to try out Courtney’s Apple Cinnamon Raisin Baked Oatmeal – it looks amazing JI’ll just have to hide the raisins on P. I think I know what Saturday breakfast will be… I also want to bake like 14 different kinds of cookies lately!! Although, based on other’ blog posts, at least I’m not the only one!

     

    Don’t you want it RIGHT NOW?

     

  • Last weekend I suddenly developed (what appears to be) a ganglion cyst on my wrist. Happened out of nowhere, and it’s SO gross looking. L Research indicates that these type of cysts are fluid filled cysts that are not cancerous or harmless – they develop in the joints and are most commonly found on the back of the wrist – which is where mine is. Most of the time, they are just left alone, although if there is discomfort and pain, they can be aspirated (drained, essentially) – except there’s a high likelihood that they’ll come back. I have experienced some pain, but nothing too extreme until yesterday – the BBB workout was an upper body workout that included lots of planks and push-ups, and today my hand is noticeably bothering me…. I may have to call the doctor … although I’m pretty sure I’m going to be told, let’s “wait and see.”

  • I need a new travel coffee mug. Any recommendations? Mine is starting to get icky – and it’s not really big enough. I’m currently using a “Brugo” mug, but I don’t love it.

     

     

  • I recently decided to participate in a “21-Day Relationship Challenge” through Gretchen Rubin (the author of The Happiness Project” and “Happier at Home”). I follow her blog, and she offers several different “challenges” – this one looked the most interesting to me, and it was free. Always a plus. Every day I get a new challenge through my email for improving my relationships – it’s pretty neat. I plan to do a full post about this, but you can check it out here

     

  • On Sunday, little brother participated in the Special Olympics Regionals for softball – and he got to carry the torch as part of the opening ceremonies – pretty cool!!!! His picture even made it into the Special Olympics newsletter! So, he’s kinda famous! (Speaking of Special Olympics, I’m running a 5K race at the end of October to support their efforts – and it involves zombies!). It’s so amazing how many organizations/activities/groups that I end up involved in all because of Craig.

     

     

  • I’ve been feeling VERY stressed/frustrated about housework done lately. Typically we try to fit it all in on Sundays, which makes me feeling cranky and crazy, and makes enjoying the weekend really difficult – and it’s no way to start of the week!! So last week I made a little “weekly household chore” chart – I chose two to three things that could be accomplished each day, so that some housework would already be accomplished and there would be less overall to do on the weekends I also left blank spaces to write things in, and also left Saturday open as well. It hangs on the fridge, and I laminated it so that we could use a dry-erase maker to cross off the different chores so we could see what was done. P and I are just starting to use it consistently, but so far it’s working great. And most importantly, I feel less stressed!!!

     

     

     

     

    That’s all I got today friends, my brain is officially on shut down mode already! It’s been tough getting back into work mode and I’ve been ready for bed at about 8:00 every night! I hope your Thursday is rolling along!!

     

    Answer me this: Tell me something good about today!!

     

    ~ Brittany xo

     


9 responses to “Thursday Thoughts

  1. Just signed up…can’t wait to try and live up to the challenge – thanks for sharing it!

  2. I really like that chore chart…I am SO messy and often feel overwhelmed on the weekend….I might have to make something like it.
    My husband has the same ganglion cyst thing and he had it drained…then it came back. As long as it’s harmless he’s not too worried.
    I also really want to go apple picking but there is no where around where I live..ugh!
    Random comments, I know.

    • Brittany says:

      I love random comments! I like everything picked up, and p is kinda messy- which frustrates me too, lol!! I’ve also found that once we start something on our chart, we end up doing other things too! So far, it’s working great… And I like to check things off :) so nice to hear about someone else with one of these gross cysts!!

  3. it is always this time of year I don’t have a problem getting my water, all I want after these humid runs

  4. I’m going to check out that challenge as it sounds good. We have a chore roster between my boyfriend and I where we tick chores off for the month as I used to hate feeling like I did 80% of the housework and it works much better now (for the most part).

    Not good about that cyst, hope your wrist is ok.

  5. Taryn says:

    Fall (or September, I guess) definitely inspires me to start baking. I’ve made cookies and brownies already.. and I fully intend to go apple picking so I can make a whole bunch of other goodies!

Leave me some love!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 218 other followers

