Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

Weekend Highlights

on August 27, 2012

Another busy weekend around these parts — on this weekend’s agenda – finish painting the front porch!! But first, on Friday I went and had a pedicure with my mom!! What girl doesn’t love a good pedicure?! I figured the end of summer is fast approaching and I won’t be indulging in getting pretty toes all that often! It was a good time to just sit and talk with my mom :)

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=9e6f987002&view=att&th=13968c5b35ba785f&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9367gl61gHTy5Zw6PYmOKL&sadet=1346082652427&sads=at9qF9l0QP5c73pmEl14l_VPzeE

How cute are my little piggies!?

On Saturday, we finished up painting ALL the white trim/railings/posts on the front porch. It seriously felt like it took forever! And then on Sunday, this happened:

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=9e6f987002&view=att&th=13968c43ac111274&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9367gl61gHTy5Zw6PYmOKL&sadet=1346082780140&sads=ewkEhpI9BUBeJ8gzr4Vq2xSBGwk

we finally started painting the floor with Deck Restore – the product is SUPER thick has some kind of “grit” in it which helps to fill in cracks and gaps in the boards – and it also helps to give the surface more “grip.” Our front porch is a skating rink in the winter, so we thought that this stuff would do the trick! We are also planning to use it on the back deck, and wanted to see how it would cover and work in a smaller area first! We were able to get 2 coats on yesterday (okay, I’ll admit it, Pete did most of the work this time around… I helped cut in with the brush on the second time around)… and so far it looks pretty cool!! We stuck with the same color – a granite gray- as was there before, and the floor definitely seems to have more grip!! Sadly, there is a whole bunch of gray paint on the white trim, so I’ll have to re-do that (AGAIN! UG) – but it’s mostly done at this point!! That definitely makes me happy.

By the time we were finished with the dang porch, we were starving!!! So we had a little impromptu dinner date at JJ Rafferty‘s … I had chicken and cheese quesedillas and Pete had three steak medallions with a Gorgonzola cheese sauce along with veggies and rice. We also started with a bruschetta … everything was yummy, and we were so hungry that I forgot to take pictures! oops!! At least our bellies were full!!

While we were waiting for the first coat of on the porch to dry, we scooted over to my parents’ house to borrow my Dad’s miter saw – while we are at home depot, we picked up some supplies for a project I’m making for my office … a puppet stand!! I have a bunch of puppets that have been sitting at home in a bag waiting for a place to live in my office for my students that I see for counseling! I’m hoping to get all the pieces stained today so that Pete can put the whole thing together for me. SUPER excited (and it’s a lot cheaper then buying a puppet stand. SCORE). I’m still on vacation this week, so I have a couple more days to get some projects finished.

I forgot to share this little purchase of mine from the other day… check out my new workout gear:

https://mail-attachment.googleusercontent.com/attachment/?ui=2&ik=9e6f987002&view=att&th=13968c4e2e214c6b&attid=0.1&disp=inline&safe=1&zw&saduie=AG9B_P9367gl61gHTy5Zw6PYmOKL&sadet=1346083611880&sads=EbGFiCbRxeDOVqd2LXTqM-hXNO0

I picked these up the other day when I was at Kohl’s … they were on sale. They are made by TEK Gear and they are so amazingly comfortable. I was pleasantly surprised. Technically the top and the pants are “yoga gear” but I ran in them. They are so incredibly soft, and honestly, feel like pajamas! I throught about not showering after my workout just so I could leave them on and stay comfy :) But the stink factor wont out!  I definitely need to go back and get some more.

I hope you all have a wonderful Monday ( I like Monday so much better when I’m not at work!!) I’m hoping the rain holds off so I can get my staining done :)

What are your plans for the day? Anything exciting happen over the weekend?

One response to “Weekend Highlights

  1. Those pants.. TOO CUTE! I’m so jealous, because they actually look really comfortable!
    I hear you on wanting to skip out on showering many days, but.. Gosh, I stink really bad after workouts! Haha! ;)
    Plans for the day? Already went to cross country practice, so I’m bumming it for the rest of the day, I think. Uncle’s coming from New York, too, so that should be interesting! :D

    Good luck on finishing your projects! Man, aren’t YOU a productive, busy bee?! Haha, I usually just laze around during my vacation, but I wish I was more like you!!

Leave me some love!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 222 other followers

