Read, Run, Repeat

A tale of fitness, books, food, and life in between

What I’m reading…

on August 23, 2012

Happy Thursday friends!! Since “read” is in the title of this blog, I thought it was about time to actually talk about a book! I just finished reading “The Midwife’s Confession” by Diane Chamberlain  late last night, and I was really enthralled with the story. Diane Chamberlain is a new author for me – I found her after I subscribed to Goodreads.com (have you tried this site, yet?! ) – basically you rate a bunch of books you you have read and the website suggests other books based on that. You can also see what your friends are reading! I took out 2 books that were recommended to me and I’ve enjoyed both of them 🙂

Anyway, Midwife’s Confession:

The synopsis on the book reads: “Dear Anna, What I have to tell you is difficult to write but I know it will be far more difficult for you to hear, and I’m so sorry…

The unfinished letter is the only clue Tara and Emerson have to the reason behind their close friend Noelle’s suicide. Everything they know about Noelle- her calling as a midwife, her passion for causes, her love for her friends and family – described a woman that embraced life.

Yet there was so much that they didn’t know.

With the discovery of the letter and its heartbreaking secret, Noelle’s friends begin to uncover the truth about this complex woman who touched each of their lives- and the life of a desperate stranger – with love and betrayal, compassion and deceit.

My thoughts: This was a fast-paced heart-wrenching story about a woman who had many secrets that she couldn’t share with her friends and family. These secrets ultimately lead to her taking her own life, and in the aftermath, her two best friends are left to pick up the pieces and try to figure out the truth of what happened. The chapters are written in the voices of the different characters so that you are able to read all sides of the story, which gives the story much greater depth. I also felt connected to each of the characters within the story, as Diane Chamberlain’s writing made them seem very real, imperfect, and complex women. The story definitely takes you on an emotional rollercoaster; from feeling a sixteen year old’s first heartbreak to the strong bonds of life-long friends to going through every parent’s worst fear. This is a story about family, friends, mothers & daughters, and the strength that one can muster up when they are faced with a worse-case-scenario. It’s also a great reminder that as well as you know someone, you don’t know everything. 😉

I was definitely enthralled with the book and had a hard time putting it down!! I’m definitely looking forward to reading more of Diane’s novels — ASAP 🙂

Question: What good books have you read lately? Are there any books that have been life-changing for you?


One response to “What I’m reading…

  1. This book sounds really good! I’m not sure if I’ve read any “life changing” books lately or anything new even.. Just trying to get into the Harry Potter series and some other girly books. 🙂

Leave me some love!